Taurus Characteristics

Gemstones - Magic or Science Revised Edition

Book Your Consultation at AstrologerPanditji.com
Buy This Book in India!
Buy This Book in USA!
Buy This Book in UK and Europe!


Click Here to go to Characteristics of Zodiac Signs Section

Characteristics of Taurus

Taurus is taken as the second among 12 zodiac signs, in Vedic astrology. It is ruled by Venus. It features three nakshatras. The last three quarters of Krittika, all four quarters of Rohini and the first two quarters of Mrigashira nakshatra fall in this sign. This sign features 9 navamshas ranging from Capricorn to Virgo. Capricorn to Pisces navamshas are ruled by Krittika, Aries to Cancer navamshas are ruled by Rohini and Leo to Virgo navamshas are ruled by Mrigashira nakshatra. Taurus represents earth element and it is taken as a feminine sign.

Looking at characteristics of Taurus; it is a materialistic, ambitious, hard-working, goal-oriented, stable, consistent, practical, honest, life-loving and romantic sign. Natives under strong influence of this sign may be good at working hard and long in order to achieve their goals; and they may also be good at celebrating and enjoying once they reach such goals. These natives may love luxuries as well as comforts; and they may have fine taste in foods, wines, arts and many other things. They may be gentle and civilized in general but they may become aggressive when provoked or when needed. They may be too materialistic, too practical, and stubborn at times.

Though Taurus represents a number of characteristics; different planets may embrace different characteristics when placed in this sign. Moon, Venus and Rahu may utilize most of its characteristics. Hence they may be very strong or strong in Taurus; depending on their nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign. Saturn and Mercury may be strong or they may have significant strength in Taurus; depending on their nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign. Sun, Jupiter and Mars may perform very well, well or poorly in Taurus; depending on their nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign. Ketu finds maximum discomfort in this sign and hence it is debilitated in Taurus.

Within this sign, various planets may have different strengths based on their nakshatra and navamsha placements. Taking an example, Venus may be very strong when placed in Taurus navamsha of Rohini nakshatra within the sign of Taurus whereas it may be strong but not very strong when placed in Virgo navamsha of Mrigashira nakshatra within the same sign. Taking another example, Jupiter may perform poorly when placed in Capricorn navamsha of Krittika, it may perform well when placed in Pisces navamsha of Krittika and it may perform very well when placed in Cancer navamsha of Rohini nakshatra; within the sign of Taurus.


Himanshu Shangari