Nakshatras: The Journey of Soul

Nakshatras - The Journey of Soul

Book Your Consultation at
Buy This Book in India!
Buy This Book in USA!
Buy This Book in UK and Europe!

Nakshatras: The Journey of Soul

Vedic astrology is a very old and comprehensive faith of astrology. Though some other similar faiths are like streams or rivers, Vedic astrology is an ocean which can provide resources to many of these faiths. I have studied and researched many such faiths like Numerology and Vastu but none of them holds their ground without the support of Vedic astrology. It is the faith which is the backbone of many such faiths. This is what inspired me to make a carrier choice with the ocean itself. After years and years of this voyage; I can happily say that I made the right choice.

The fact that Vedic astrology is among the oldest faiths of its kind, also makes it vulnerable to many types of corruptions and adulterations from time to time. Some of these adulterations may be the results of misinterpretations of various concepts of Vedic astrology from time to time. Some others may be there because some scholars may have twisted some definitions, for selfish motives. Due to such adulterations, corruptions and misinterpretations, Vedic astrology may not look as capable and accurate to a number of people, as it actually is.

With the grace of Lord Shiva, I have spent years in researching various concepts of Vedic astrology. It has been a constant effort to find out where and how much, such concepts may have been misinterpreted; and what could be the correct interpretations of these concepts. Though in their misinterpreted forms, most such concepts of Vedic astrology don’t hold ground in real practice of astrology, almost all of them hold solid ground in their modified forms. This effort has taken many years of research and analysis of thousands of horoscopes. The results however, have been very rewarding.

This book is an effort to create awareness among the lovers of Vedic astrology that this faith is still as capable as it was when it was born. Various misinterpretations from time to time may have caused confusions related to many important concepts of this faith. Through this book, an attempt has been made to create awareness about true nature of Nakshatras. They deal with the finest aspects of Vedic astrology. Hence they add that leading edge to the readings; many astrologers may be looking for.

The playground for all astrological entities is taken as circular; which includes movement within a range of 360 degrees. This playground is further divided into 12 zones which are called zodiac signs and each zone or zodiac sign owns 30 degrees. These zodiac signs keep appearing on the sky of a particular location, one after another, in cyclic pattern. While one of these signs takes lead at a time; the others assume different positions or angles, according to a fixed pattern. This way, each sign gets to be the leader for about two hours and a cycle is completed in about 24 hours. The sign which appears as the leader on the sky of a particular place at the time of birth of a native; represents the first house of his horoscope. Hence this sign becomes his ascendant or Lagna.

Horoscopes are also divided into twelve houses with each house enclosing 30 degrees, just like signs. If Aries is the rising sign at the time of birth of a native, it is assigned to the first house. It means Aries becomes the ascendant of such horoscope. The next sign Taurus is assigned to the second house and this process goes on, completing at the twelfth house being assigned to the twelfth sign Pisces. At any given point in time, each planet among navagraha is transiting through a zodiac sign. The movement of these planets also happens to be cyclic. Once the sign representing the ascendant as well as those representing the other houses of a horoscope are found, the planets are assigned to various houses; according to their transits in various signs at that time.

This is the bigger setup through which a horoscope works and this setup works well for many astrologers. However, there is a finer setup which works within this bigger setup. This finer setup is used to calculate finer results and this setup is represented by nakshatras. According to this finer setup, the playground is further divided into 27 sub zones called nakshatras, with each one of them claiming 13 degrees and 20 minutes; amounting to a total of 360 degrees. Each subzone further contains 4 finer zones called four parts or padas of a nakshatra, with each one of them claiming 3 degrees and 20 minutes.

This way, the playground is divided into 108 finer divisions, with 4 divisions for each one of 27 nakshatras. These 108 finer divisions again add up to 360 degrees. Since each sign contains 30 degrees, it means it contains 9 of such 108 finer divisions called navamshas. The word navamsha literally means the ninth part of something, which in this context means ninth part of a sign. Nine multiplied by 3 degrees and 20 minutes gives 30 degrees and 108 multiplied by 3 degrees and 20 minutes gives 360 degrees; which solves the equation perfectly.

The journey from Aries to Pisces and the journey from Ashwini to Revati is the journey of liberation, as we will try to find out through this book. The first two nakshatras Ashwini and Bharani falling in Aries deal more with the early stages of evolution. On the other hand, the last two nakshatras Uttarabhadrapada and Revati falling in Pisces deal more with the final stages of evolution. It means when supported by their overall horoscopes, natives under strong influence of Uttarabhadrapada and Revati may achieve liberation during their present lives. Between the beginning and completion of this journey, each soul crosses many levels and stages of evolution; represented by different nakshatras. Through this book, we will try to understand the role of different nakshatras in shaping our personalities as well as in indicating our stages of evolution at the beginning of various lives that we assume.


Himanshu Shangari