Libra Characteristics

Gemstones - Magic or Science Revised Edition

Book Your Consultation at
Buy This Book in India!
Buy This Book in USA!
Buy This Book in UK and Europe!


Click Here to go to Characteristics of Zodiac Signs Section

Characteristics of Libra

Libra is taken as the seventh among 12 zodiac signs, in Vedic astrology. It is ruled by Venus. It features three nakshatras. The last two quarters of Chitra, all four quarters of Swati and the first three quarters of Vishakha nakshatra fall in this sign. This sign features 9 navamshas ranging from Libra to Gemini. Libra to Scorpio navamshas are ruled by Chitra, Sagittarius to Pisces navamshas are ruled by Swati and Aries to Gemini navamshas are ruled by Vishakha nakshatra. Libra represents air element and it is taken as a masculine sign.

Looking at characteristics of Libra; it is a flexible, adaptable, diplomatic, patient, fair, sensitive, caring, idealistic, social, clever, charming, magnetic, sharing, indulgent and indecisive sign. Natives under strong influence of this sign may be fair as well as caring in their approach and they may be good at the art of building and maintaining relationships. They may be beautiful, charming, magnetic, charismatic and/or sensual; depending on their overall horoscopes. They may be good at socializing and they may have big networks of people. They may be good at the art of adapting themselves to new situations, places and people. They love life and they may be often seen enjoying and partying. They may be indecisive and/or confused at times and they may take long or too long to make/execute decisions. Hence they may not be able to act in time and they may face problems due to this characteristic.

Though Libra represents a number of characteristics; different planets may embrace different characteristics when placed in this sign. Venus and Saturn may utilize most of its characteristics and hence they may be very strong or strong in Libra; depending on their nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign. Mercury and Rahu may be strong or they may have significant strength in Libra; depending on their nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign. Moon, Jupiter and Mars may perform very well, well or poorly in Libra; depending on their nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign. Sun and Ketu are not comfortable in Libra and hence they may perform poorly or very poorly in this sign.

Within this sign, various planets may have different strengths based on their nakshatra and navamsha placements. Taking an example, Saturn may be very strong when placed in Libra navamsha of Chitra or Capricorn navamsha of Swati nakshatra within the sign of Libra whereas it may be strong but not very strong when placed in Aries navamsha of Vishakha nakshatra within the same sign. Taking another example, Moon may perform poorly when placed in Scorpio navamsha of Chitra, it may perform well when placed in Pisces navamsha of Swati and it may perform very well when placed in Taurus navamsha of Vishakha nakshatra; within the sign of Libra.


Himanshu Shangari