Aries Characteristics

Gemstones - Magic or Science Revised Edition

Book Your Consultation at
Buy This Book in India!
Buy This Book in USA!
Buy This Book in UK and Europe!


Click Here to go to Characteristics of Zodiac Signs Section

Characteristics of Aries

Aries is taken as the first among 12 zodiac signs, in Vedic astrology. It is ruled by Mars. It features three nakshatras. All four quarters of Ashwini, all four quarters of Bharani and the first quarter of Krittika nakshatra fall in this sign. This sign features nine navamshas ranging from Aries to Sagittarius. Aries to Cancer navamshas are ruled by Ashwini, Leo to Scorpio navamshas are ruled by Bharani and Sagittarius navamsha is ruled by Krittika nakshatra. Aries represents fire element and it is taken as a masculine sign.

Looking at characteristics of Aries; it represents energy, fire, initiative, impulsiveness, strong-headedness, courage, bravery, direct approach, honesty, beginnings, adventures, competitive spirit and a number of other characteristics. Natives under strong influence of this sign are brave as well as courageous and they may not be afraid of taking risks; no matter how big such risks may be. They’re natural fighters and most of them may be dominant or very dominant. They may not be easily shaken by threats or troublesome events and they may keep moving forward; even in the worst circumstances. They may be stubborn, over-confident, rash, impulsive and reckless at times.

Though Aries represents a number of characteristics; different planets may embrace different characteristics when placed in this sign. Sun may utilize most of its characteristics and hence it is very strong in this sign. Mars may also do the same and it may also be very strong in Aries. Ketu and Jupiter may utilize many of its characteristics and they may be strong in this sign. Venus, Mercury and Rahu may perform well, very well or poorly; depending on their nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign. Moon may perform well or poorly; depending on its nakshatra and navamsha placements within this sign.

Saturn finds maximum discomfort in this sign. Aries is all fire whereas Saturn is a cold and dry planet. Aries is all about speed whereas Saturn is the slowest to move. Aries is impulsive and quick to act as well as react whereas Saturn is the most patient planet among navagraha. Hence Saturn wishes to take due time in order to reach a decision and then execute it. Apart from these; there are a number of differences between characteristics of Saturn and those of Aries. Hence Saturn feels very uncomfortable in this sign and so it gets debilitated here. As a result, the general as well as specific significances of Saturn may suffer in a horoscope, when it is placed in Aries.

Within this sign, various planets may have different strengths based on their nakshatra and navamsha placements. Taking an example, Sun may be the strongest when placed in Aries navamsha of Ashwini nakshatra within the sign of Aries whereas it may be strong but not very strong when placed in Libra navamsha of Bharani nakshatra within the same sign. Taking another example, Saturn may be the weakest when placed in Aries navamshas of Ashwini nakshatra within the sign of Aries whereas it may be weak but not very weak when placed in Libra navamsha of Bharani nakshatra.


Himanshu Shangari